Spring is here!

Probio +immuni-T combines vitamin A and more than a billion probiotics in one cup to help you enter this new exciting season.

Nano - 5 1/2

Probio Immuni-T: A yogurt that’s good for you

Probiotics: An ally to our well-being

How do we activate our protective mechanisms to feel our best all year long?

Read more

X

The body: An ingenious machine!

The human body’s first natural barriers are the skin and the mucous membranes,* including those in the digestive tract, among others. They are highly effective at eliminating any infectious agents by trapping them in cells or mucus. Intestinal transit, along with the daily elimination of dead skin cells, will do this job and kick intruders out. However, if the aggressor gets through, many innate immune mechanisms come into play. Just like on a battlefield, we have first and second lines of defence, and both are well organized.
An unexpected ally of the immune system is currently attracting the attention of numerous researchers: the microbiota.

Microbiota … know what that is?

According to Bourlioux, the microbiota is an important group of bacteria found throughout the intestinal tract and whose composition varies depending on their location and the individual’s age and stage of life. Another term used for microbiota is intestinal flora.

[*The tiniest external openings are protected: the cornea by tears, the nose by mucus, the ears by wax, the stomach by gastric juices, the intestines by bacterial flora, etc.]

Unbalanced intestinal flora indicates declining health

A number of studies have shown that an imbalance of the microbiota is associated with an increase in vulnerability to inflammatory diseases, allergies and metabolic syndrome (diabetes, obesity and risk of cardiovascular disease). There is also an undeniable link between the intestinal flora and the immune system, as up to 70% of the cells in our immune system are found in the gut. The scientific community is unanimous on one point: continuous lactic acid bacteria in fermented dairy products such as Probio +immuni-T* yogurt contribute to healthy digestive flora.

Keeping your good intestinal bacteria healthy

At the 2016 International Conference on Nutrition in Medicine, seven nutritional recommendations were put forward to keep your intestinal bacteria in good health:
·Build meals around plant-based foods: vegetables, fruits, whole grains and legumes.
·Aim to consume at least 50 g to 55 g of fibre per day.
·Include at least 5 to 8 g of plant-based prebiotics a day.
·Eat foods that are fermented or contain probiotics.
·Avoid red meat and food additives.
·Limit fat consumption, especially if you are at high risk of type 2 diabetes.
·Use antibiotics only when necessary

A helping hand

The recipe to help your body optimize its natural defences is simple: adopt a healthy lifestyle, get plenty of exercise, sleep well and eat properly! Starting the day with smart and highly nutritious foods seems trivial, but it means giving yourself the ammunition to get through your day, regardless of the season. Consider a slice of cantaloupe, a few apricots or prunes, a handful of pumpkin seeds or a serving of yogurt. These little things will make a difference from morning to night.
*Probio +immuni-T contains more than one billion probiotic bacteria (BB-12 Bifidobacterium lactis) per 100-gram serving.

References

Mayer G., Dr., University of South Carolina School of Medicine and Hudrisier D., Dr., Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)- Institute of Pharmacology and Biology, Université de Toulouse. Pages viewed on November 15, 2017. Microbiology and Immunology-online, free courses in English and French (2012) [online]

Extenso (Université de Montréal reference centre on nutrition). Page viewed on November 15, 2017. Renforcez votre système immunitaire (2012) [online](in French)

Lecerf J.-M., Dr., Head of the Nutrition Department, Institut Pasteur de Lille. Page viewed on November 15, 2017. Nutrition et immunité (2014) [online](in French)

BOURLIOUX P. et al., Groupe de travail Microbiote intestinal Santé Environnement of the Académie Nationale de Pharmacie de France. Page viewed on November 17, 2017, L’actualité du microbiote intestinal, presentation of June 5, 2013 [online](in French)

Rooks M.G., Garrett W.S. et al. Page viewed on November 17, 2017. Gut microbiota, metabolites and host immunity (2016)[ published article] Nature Reviews Immunology 2016;16(6):341-352 and [online]

Scavuzzi B. M. et al. Page viewed on November 17, 2017. The role of probiotics on each component of the metabolic syndrome and other cardiovascular risks (2015)[published article] Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets 2015 and [online]

Vighi G. et al. Page viewed on November 17, 2017. Allergy and the gastrointestinal system (2008) [published article] Clinical Experimental Immunology 2008; 153 (Suppl. 1): 3–6 and [online]

Roy, D., Ph.D., Tenured Professor, Food Sciences, Université Laval and researcher at the Institute of Nutrition and Functional Foods (INAF). Attended on September 24, 2016, and pages viewed on November 17, 2017. À table avec votre microbiote! Scientific communication at the 60th Congress of the OPDQ (2016) [online] and popularization in La Presse [online]

Dairy Nutrition, Dedicated to Health Professionals. Page viewed on November 17, 2017. Fermented Milk Products May Have Favourable Immunological Effects [online]

Daily health starts with a capital “A”

The benefits of vitamin A go beyond healthy eyes, bones, teeth and skin. This vitamin also helps maintain the immune system.

Read more

X

The benefits

Vitamin A helps ensure the proper functioning of first-line immune defences, such as those in the cells of the intestinal wall, mucous membranes and the inflammatory process, among others. It also plays a role in the production of antibodies.
It’s the only vitamin recognized by Health Canada on certain food packaging for its contribution to maintaining a normal immune system.

The sources

In our diet, vitamin A comes from either animal sources (retinol) or vegetable sources (carotenoids). Significant animal sources are liver, fatty or vitamin A-fortified dairy products, and fatty fish.
Vitamin A intake comes, in part, from vegetables and fruits. To fulfill this goal, at least five servings of fruits and vegetables must be consumed daily. Other sources of vitamin A are dairy products, meat and alternatives, and grain products.
Finally, when we examine the dietary intake of Canadians, more than 40 % for most age and gender groups are not getting enough vitamin A. Eating foods that contain it would make up this deficiency very easily.

Fortify!

Given the importance of dairy products in contributing to the intake of vitamin A in Canada, all liquid, evaporated, or powdered skim milk should be fortified to replace the amount lost during skimming. However, this is no longer a requirement for a product made with milk, such as yogurt.
A quick scan of various product labels will confirm that iögo Probio Immuni-T is the only probiotic yogurt in its class* made with vitamin A-fortified milk and that one 175-gram serving helps provide 15% of the daily value of vitamin A. This is an undeniable plus for those who watch what they eat!
*regular probiotic yogurt, not reduced in fat

References

Institute of Medicine. Food and Nutrition Board. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Dietary Reference Intakes for Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Arsenic, Boron, Chromium, Copper, Iodine, Iron, Manganese, Molybdenum, Nickel, Silicon, Vanadium, and Zinc. Washington, DC: National Academy Press; 2001[online]

Extenso (Université de Montréal reference centre on nutrition). Page viewed November 17, 2017. Vitamin A (2012)[online] (in French)

Wintergerst ES, et al. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Contribution of selected vitamins and trace elements to immune function. [published article]. Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism: 51(4):301-23, 2007 [online]

López-Varela S. et al. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Functional foods and the immune system: a review. [published article]. European Journal of Clinical Nutrition: 56, S29–S33, 2002 [online]

Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Nutrient Function Claims, updated in 2017 [online]

Blanchet C. et al., Institut national de santé publique du Québec. Page viewed November 17, 2017. The food consumption and nutritional intake of Quebec adults (in French) (2009)[online]

Dieticians of Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Food Sources of Vitamin A (2014) [online]

Health Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Canadian Nutrient File (CNF), 2015 [online]

Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Dairy Vitamin Addition, updated in 2013, [online]

Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Foods to Which Vitamins, Mineral Nutrients and Amino Acids May or Must be Added, updated in 2014 [online]

[NOTE: THE ARTICLE STUDIES THE QUEBEC POPULATION, BUT WE HAVE THE CANADIAN DATA: For the Canadian average (higher prevalence rate), which does not reflect the distinctive characteristics of Quebec: The prevalence of insufficient vitamin A intake was more than 40% for most age and gender groups. Health Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Do Canadian Adults Meet their Nutrient Requirements through Food Intake Alone? (2012)[online]

Health Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide, 2007[online]

World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and the Prevention of Cancer: a Global Perspective, (2007) Washington, DC: AICR, [online]

For information on vitamin supplements used by Canadians, a recent study of Canadian provinces has not yet been analyzed but the first reports were released in June 2017:
Statistics Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Health Fact Sheets – Use of nutritional supplements, 2015 [online]

Reference analyzing consumption data from 2004:
Statistics Canada. Page viewed November 17, 2017. Vatanparast H. et al. Socio-economic status and vitamin/mineral supplement use in Canada, 2015 [online]

I love dairy products, but they don’t love me.

That’s unfortunate, because dairy products aren’t just delicious but part of a healthy and balanced diet.

Read more

X

Is lactose-free for me?

Bloating, flatulence and stomach aches are often signs of a digestive problem. For some people, lactose may be the cause. Advice on this issue can come from many sources, but what are the facts?

Is lactose easy to digest?

Lactose is a sugar that naturally occurs in the milk of cows and other animals (e.g. goats). It’s also found in foods made from these types of milk. To digest it, the digestive tract usually produces lactase, an enzyme that breaks down lactose into two other sugars that are then absorbed and used by the human body.

For some, not so easy!

Normally, the digestion of lactose takes place in the small intestine. However, some people don’t produce enough lactase to digest the sugar effectively. The lactose then travels to the large intestine, where it’s transformed by the intestinal flora into various compounds, including gas. For some people, flatulence can occur often and be relatively painful. The discomfort may last several hours and eventually be accompanied by cramps, diarrhea, nausea or vomiting.

A simple test

In the process of fermenting lactose, bacteria in the large intestine produce hydrogen, a gas absorbed into the bloodstream and is expelled from the lungs. By measuring the amount of hydrogen exhaled, it can be determined whether a person is lactose intolerant. It’s a simple, readily available test that should be interpreted by a specialist to personalize the appropriate treatment approach based on observed symptoms.

Lactose content in food

Foods made from milk don’t all have the same lactose content. Some yogurts contain more than others because of the amount of skim milk powder, whey or milk solids added to make them. The lactose in yogurt is digested easier than that in milk.

Milk products

Amount consumed Product Amount of lactose (g)
250 mL Cow’s milk (3.25%, 2% and 1% M.F.) 13
250 mL Lactose-free milk Lactose-free

Yogurts

Quantity consumed Product Amount of lactose (g)
175 mL Plain yogurt (2% to 3.9% M.F.) 5
175 mL Lactose-free iögo Probio Immuni-T yogurt Lactose-free

Lactose-free versus lactose reduced

Dietary lactase can be added to dairy products such as milk and yogurt to eliminate the presence of lactose. The claim “lactose-free” means that the company has provided evidence that lactose is no longer detectable in the final product.
The claim “reduced lactose content” is much less explicit than the previous one! A mere 25% reduction of the initial lactose content allows a manufacturer to make such a claim on the packaging. This means there’s a residual amount of lactose in the final product. The difference is important!

An individual approach

The lactose tolerance of each individual is different and depends on many factors. It can vary over the course of a day just as it can over a lifetime based on specific genetics, dietary habits and health.
In all cases, each treatment must take an individual approach. This means taking the time to identify the causes of the lactose intolerance or, at the very least, recognize the signs
Sometimes, the issue can be managed by consuming your favourite dairy products as part of a meal containing protein, fat and fibre. Remember to avoid clinging to major dietary restrictions that could hurt your overall health and to search for products tailored to your needs.

References

Suchy, F.J. et al. Page viewed November 23, 2017. National Institutes of Health (NIH) Consensus Development Conference Statement: Lactose Intolerance and Health. [published article] NIH Consens State Sci Statements: Feb 22–24; 27(2):1–27, 2010 [online]

Heyman, M.B., for the Committee on Nutrition, American Academy of Pediatrics. Page viewed November 23, 2017. Clinical report: Lactose Intolerance in Infants, Children, and Adolescents. [published article] Pediatrics: September; VOLUME 118 / ISSUE 32006, 2006 [online]

Health Canada. Page viewed November 23, 2017. Canadian Nutrient File (CNF), 2015 [online]

Dieticians of Canda. Page viewed November 23, 2017. Food Sources of Lactose (2012) [online]

Extenso (Université de Montréal reference centre on nutrition). Page viewed November 23, 2017. Les fromages : sont-ils tous équivalents? (2015)[online](in French)

Kolars, J.C. et al. Yogurt – An Autodigesting Source of Lactose. The New England Journal of Medicine 1984; 310:1-3, January 5, 1984
Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Page viewed November 23, 2017. Composition Claims – Lactose-Free and Lactose Reduced Claims, updated October 2017 [online]

Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Page viewed November 23, 2017. List of Permitted Food Enzymes (Lists of Permitted Food Additives), updated October 2017, [online]

Discover three fun recipes

It all started here

100% owned by Canadian dairy farmer cooperatives.
When you choose IÖGO for you and your family, you’re supporting a great 100% Canadian story.

Learn more about IÖGO >

Soyez prêt

pour l'hiver!

Probio +immuni-T combine de la vitamine A et plus d’un milliard de probiotiques dans un même pot pour vous aider à savourer l’hiver.

IMPRIMEZ VOTRE COUPON>

Nano - 5 1/2

Probio + Immuni-T, un yogourt qui fait du bien

Les probiotiques, un allié au bien-être

Comment activer tous nos mécanismes de protection pour se sentir à son plein potentiel

Lire la suite

X

Génial ce corps! 

Les premières barrières naturelles contre un agresseur extérieur sont la peau et toutes les muqueuses du corps humain, dont celle du tube digestif, entre autres. Dans l’intestin, ce rempart anatomique élimine simplement les agents infectieux en les piégeant dans le mucus. Le transit intestinal fait le reste du travail et montre la porte de sortie aux intrus. Malgré tout, si l’agresseur passe au travers, de nombreux mécanismes immunitaires innés et adaptatifs entrent en action. Comme sur un champ de bataille, ces défenses de premières et secondes lignes sont toutes les deux bien orchestrées. Un allié inattendu du système immunitaire capte actuellement l’attention de nombreux chercheurs : le microbiote.

Microbiote… vous connaissez?

La définition du microbiote selon Bourlioux est un ensemble important de bactéries réparties tout au long du tractus intestinal et dont la composition est variable selon la localisation, les individus, l’âge et les périodes de la vie d’un même individu. Un autre terme utilisé pour microbiote est flore intestinale.

Débalancement de la flore intestinale : détérioration de l’état de santé

Plusieurs études montrent qu’un déséquilibre du microbiote est associé à une augmentation de la sensibilité aux maladies inflammatoires, aux allergies et au syndrome métabolique (diabète, obésité et risque de maladies cardiovasculaires). On fait également un lien indéniable entre la flore intestinale et le système immunitaire. On sait que jusqu’à 70% des cellules du système immunitaire se retrouvent dans l’intestin. La communauté scientifique est unanime sur un point. Les bactéries lactiques contenues dans les produits laitiers fermentés comme les yogourts Probio+immuni-T* contribuent à une flore digestive saine.

Maintenir en santé ses bonnes bactéries intestinales

Pour maintenir en santé ses bonnes bactéries intestinales, sept recommandations nutritionnelles ont été proposées lors de la Conférence internationale sur la Nutrition en médecine en 2016 :

· Construire les repas autour des aliments à base de plantes : légumes, fruits, grains
entiers et légumineuses.
· Viser une consommation d’au moins 50 g à 55 g de fibres par jour.
· Inclure au moins 5 à 8 g de prébiotiques à base de plantes par jour.
· Consommer des aliments fermentés ou avec des probiotiques.
· Éviter la viande rouge et les additifs alimentaires.
· Limiter la consommation de matières grasses, surtout si le risque de diabète de type 2
est élevé.
· Utiliser des antibiotiques uniquement lorsque c’est nécessaire.

Un coup de pouce bien simple

La recette est simple pour permettre à son corps d’optimiser la capacité de ses défenses naturelles : avoir de bonnes habitudes de vie en général, bouger, dormir et bien manger!  Amorcer la journée par des aliments astucieux et hautement nutritifs semble anodin, mais c’est se donner des munitions pour passer au travers de sa journée, qu’importe la saison. Pensons à une tranche de cantaloup, quelques abricots ou pruneaux séchés, une poignée de graines de citrouille et une portion de yogourt qui contient de grandes quantités de bactéries bénéfiques telles que des bactéries lactiques*. Ces petits riens feront une différence du matin au soir.

* [Probio +immuni-T contient plus d’un milliard de bactéries probiotiques (BB-12 MD Bifidobacterium Lactis) par portion.]

Références

Mayer G., Dr., École de Médecine de l’Universités de Caroline du Sud et Hudrisier D., Dr., Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)- Institut de pharmacologie et de biologie de l’Université de Toulouse. Pages consultées le 15 novembre 2017. Microbiologie et immunologie-en ligne, cours gratuits en français et en anglais (2012) [en ligne]

Extenso, Centre de référence sur la nutrition de l’Université de Montréal. Page consultée les 15 novembre 2017. Renforcez votre système immunitaire (2012) [en ligne]

Lecerf J.-M., Dr., Chef du service de nutrition de l’Institut Pasteur de Lille. Page consultée le 15 novembre 2017. Nutrition et immunité (2014) [en ligne]

BOURLIOUX P. et coll., Groupe de travail Microbiote intestinal Santé Environnement de l’Académie Nationale de Pharmacie de France. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017, L’actualité du microbiote intestinal, présentation du 5 juin 2013 [en ligne]

Rooks M.G. et Garrett W.S. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Gut microbiota, metabolites and host immunity (2016)[article publié] Nature Reviews Immunology 2016;16(6):341-352 et [en ligne]

Miglioranza Scavuzzi B. et coll. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. The role of probiotics on each component of the metabolic syndrome and other cardiovascular risks (2015) [article publié] Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets 2015 et [en ligne]

Vighi G. et coll. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Allergy and the gastrointestinal system (2008) [article publié] Clinical Experimental Immunology 2008; 153(Suppl 1): 3–6 et [en ligne]

Roy D., Dr., professeur titulaire, Sciences des aliments, Université Laval et chercheur Institut sur la nutrition et les aliments fonctionnels (INAF) Canada. Assisté 24 septembre 2016 et pages consultées le 17 novembre 2017. À table avec votre microbiote! Communication scientifique lors du 60 e Congrés de l’OPDQ (2016) [en ligne]
et vulgarisation La Presse [en ligne]

Savoir Laitier, Destiné aux professionnels de la santé. Page consulté le 17 novembre 2017. Les produits laitiers fermentés pourraient avoir des effets immunologiques favorables [en ligne]

 

La santé au quotidien avec un grand A

Les bienfaits de la vitamine A vont au-delà de la santé des yeux, des os, des dents et de la peau. Cette vitamine participe également au maintien du système immunitaire.

Lire la suite

X

A comme dans Avantages

La vitamine A contribue à la fonction normale des défenses immunitaires de premières lignes, comme celle des cellules de la barrière intestinale et des muqueuses entre autres. Elle intervient aussi dans la production d’anticorps.
C’est la seule vitamine pour laquelle Santé Canada permet de souligner sa contribution au maintien d’un système immunitaire normal sur des emballages de certains aliments.

A comme dans Aliments

Dans l’alimentation, la vitamine A provient soit de sources animales (le rétinol) ou de sources végétales (les caroténoïdes). Les sources animales significatives sont le foie, les produits laitiers gras ou enrichis en vitamine A et les poissons gras.
Les légumes et les fruits contribuent à environ 50 % des apports en vitamine A. Pour remplir ce contrat, un minimum de 5 portions de fruits et de légumes doit être consommé tous les jours. On puise également notre vitamine A dans les produits laitiers, les viandes et substituts et les produits céréaliers.
Pour 40 % des Canadiens qui ont un apport insuffisant en vitamine A, il devient facile de remédier à ce manque en équilibrant son assiette quotidienne.

A comme dans Alléchant

Étant donné l’importance de la contribution des produits laitiers dans l’apport en vitamine A au Canada, tous les laits écrémés liquides, évaporés ou en poudre doivent être enrichis pour remplacer la quantité perdue lors de l’écrémage. Par contre, ce n’est plus une obligation pour un produit fait avec du lait comme les yogourts.
Un petit tour sur les étiquettes des produits vous confirmera que iögo Probio Immuni-T est le seul yogourt probiotique de sa catégorie* qui est fait avec un lait enrichi en vitamine A et qu’une portion de 175 g contribue à fournir 15 % de la valeur quotidienne en vitamine A. Un plus indéniable pour ceux et celles qui surveillent la qualité de leurs aliments!
*yogourt probiotique régulier, non réduit en gras.

Références

Institute of Medicine, Food and Nutrition Board. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Dietary Reference Intakes: Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Arsenic, Boron, Chromium, Copper, Iodine, Iron, Manganese, Molybdenum, Nickel, Silicon, Vanadium, and Zinc. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 2001[en ligne]

Extenso, Centre de référence sur la nutrition de l’Université de Montréal. Page consultée les 17 novembre 2017. Vitamine A (2012) [en ligne]

Wintergerst ES, et coll. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Contribution of selected vitamins and trace elements to immune function (2007) [article publié] Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism: 51(4):301-23, 2007 [en ligne]

López-Varela s. et coll. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Functional foods and the immune system: a review (2002) [article publié] European Journal of Clinical Nutrition: 56, S29–S33, 2002, [en ligne]

Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Allégations nutritionnelles fonctionnelles, mise à jour 2017, [en ligne]

Blanchet C. et coll., Institut national de santé publique du Québec. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. La consommation alimentaire et les apports nutritionnels des adultes québécois (2009) [en ligne]

Les diététistes du Canda. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Sources alimentaires de vitamine A (2014) [en ligne]

Santé Canada. Page consultée le 17 novembre. Fichier canadien sur les éléments nutritifs (FCÉN), 2015 [en ligne]

Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Ajout de vitamines aux produits laitiers, mise à jour 2013, [en ligne]

Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Aliments auxquels des vitamines, des minéraux nutritifs et des acides aminés peuvent ou doivent être ajoutés, mise à jour 2014 [en ligne]

[NOTE : LA POPULATION CIBLÉE POUR L’ARTICLE EST LE QUÉBEC, MAIS ON A LES DONNÉES CANADIENNES: Pour la moyenne canadienne (taux de prévalence plus élevé) mais qui ne reflète pas la particularité du Québec : La prévalence d’un apport insuffisant en vitamine A s’élevait à plus de 40 % chez la plupart des groupes d’âge et de sexe.] Santé Canada. Page consultée le 17 novembre. Les adultes canadiens comblent-ils leurs besoins en nutriments uniquement grâce à l’alimentation? (2012) [en ligne]

Santé Canada. Page consultée le 17 novembre. Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien, 2007 [en ligne]

World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research. Page consultée le 17 novembre 2017. Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and the Prevention of Cancer: a Global Perspective, (2007) Washington DC : AICR, [en ligne]

En réserve si questions sur les suppléments vitaminiques des Canadiens, nouvelle étude sur les collectivités canadiennes pas encore analysée mais premiers rapports sortis en juin 2017 :
Statistique Canada. Page consultée le 17 novembre. Feuillets d’information de la santé, Consommation de suppléments nutritifs, 2015 [en ligne]

Autre référence analysée cette fois, avec des données de consommation de 2004 :
Statistique Canada. Page consultée le 17 novembre. Vatanparast H. et coll. Statut socioéconomique et consommation de suppléments de vitamines et de minéraux au Canada, 2015 [en ligne]

J'adore les produits laitiers mais eux ne m'aiment pas

Et c’est bien dommage, car en plus d’être délicieux les produits laitiers font également partie d’une alimentation saine et équilibrée.

Lire la suite

X

Sans lactose: est-ce pour moi?

Ballonnements, flatulences, maux de ventre sont souvent les signes d’une digestion difficile. Pour certaines personnes, le lactose pourrait en être la cause.  Tout le monde y va avec son conseil du jour. Mais qu’en est-il vraiment?

Facile la digestion du lactose?

Le lactose est un sucre naturellement présent dans le lait de vache et d’autres animaux (chèvre). On le retrouve également dans les aliments fabriqués à partir de ces laits. Pour le digérer, le tube digestif produit habituellement de la lactase, une enzyme, qui “coupe” le lactose en deux autres sucres qui sont alors absorbés et utilisés par le corps humain.

Pour certain, pas si simple!

Habituellement, la digestion du lactose se fait dans le petit intestin. Cependant, certaines personnes n’ont pas assez de cette fameuse lactase pour le digérer efficacement. Le lactose se rend, alors, jusqu’au gros intestin et subit une transformation par les bactéries de la flore intestinale en différents composés, dont un gaz. Chez certaines personnes, les flatulences peuvent être nombreuses plus ou moins douloureuses. L’inconfort peut durer plusieurs heures et éventuellement s’accompagner de crampes, diarrhées, nausées ou vomissements.

Pour en avoir le coeur net

En fermentant le lactose, les bactéries du gros intestin produisent de l’hydrogène, un gaz qui passe dans le sang et est évacué au niveau des poumons. C’est grâce à la mesure de la quantité d’hydrogène expiré que l’on peut déterminer s’il y a une intolérance au lactose. C’est un test simple et accessible qui devrait être interprété par un spécialiste afin de personnaliser l’approche du traitement approprié selon les symptômes observés.

La teneur en lactose des aliments

Les aliments fabriqués à partir du lait n’ont pas tous la même teneur en lactose. Certains yogourts en contiennent plus que d’autres à cause de la quantité de poudre de lait écrémé, de lactosérum (petit lait) ou de solides de lait ajoutée pour les fabriquer. Le lactose des yogourts est mieux toléré que celui du lait en breuvage.

Les laits

Quantité consommée Produit Quantité de lactose (g)
250 ml Lait de vache (3,25%, 2% et 1% de M.G.) 13
250 ml Lait sans lactose Sans lactose

Les yogourts

Quantité consommée Produit Quantité de lactose (g)
175 ml Yogourt, nature (2 à 3,9% M.G.) 5
175 ml Yogourt iögo Probio Immuni-T sans lactose Sans lactose

Sans lactose ou teneur réduite en lactose ?

De la lactase alimentaire peut être ajoutée à certains produits laitiers pour éliminer la présence du lactose comme dans le lait et les yogourts. La déclaration « Sans lactose » signifie bien que la compagnie a fourni une preuve que le lactose n’est plus détectable dans le produit final.
La mention « teneur réduite en lactose » est bien moins catégorique que la précédente! Une simple réduction de 25 % de la teneur initiale en lactose permettrait à un fabricant d’inscrire cette indication sur l’emballage. Il y a donc une quantité résiduelle de lactose dans le produit final. C’est bien différent!

Une approche individuelle

Dans tous les cas, chaque intervention se doit d’être une approche individuelle. Il est donc préférable de chercher les causes de son intolérance au lactose ou du moins apprendre à connaître ses réactions.
Parfois, il suffit de consommer ses produits laitiers préférés dans un repas qui contient des protéines, des gras et des fibres. Le plus important est de rechercher des produits adaptés à ses besoins et d’éviter de s’enfermer dans des restrictions alimentaires majeures qui nuiraient à sa santé globale.

Références

Suchy FJ, Brannon PM, Carpenter TO, Fernandez JR, Gilsanz V, Gould JB, Hall K, Hui SL, Lupton J, Mennella J, Miller NJ, Osganian SK, Sellmeyer DE, Wolf MA. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. National Institutes of Health (NIH) Consensus Development Conference Statement: Lactose Intolerance and Health. [publié] NIH Consens State Sci Statements : Feb 22–24; 27(2):1–27, 2010 [en ligne]

Heyman MB, for the Committee on Nutrition, the American Academy of Pediatrics. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. Clinical report: Lactose Intolerance in Infants, Children, and Adolescents. [publié] Pediatrics : September; VOLUME 118 / ISSUE 32006, 2006 [en ligne]

Santé Canada. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. Fichier canadien sur les éléments nutritifs (FCÉN), 2015 [en ligne]

Les diététistes du Canda. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. Sources alimentaires de lactose (2012) [en ligne]

Extenso, Centre de référence sur la nutrition de l’Université de Montréal. Page consultée les 23 novembre 2017. Les fromages : sont-ils tous équivalents? (2015) [en ligne]

Kolars JC et coll. Yogurt – An Autodigesting Source of Lactose. The New England Journal of Medicine J Med 1984; 310:1-3January 5, 1984
Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. Allégations relatives à la composition – Allégations « sans lactose » ou « teneur réduite en lactose », mise à jour octobre 2017 [en ligne]

Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Page consultée le 23 novembre 2017. Liste des enzymes alimentaires autorisées dans ou sur des produits (Listes des additifs alimentaires autorisés), mise à jour octobre 2017, [en ligne]

Découvrez trois recettes anti-grisaille

On nourrit votre vraie nature!

C’est tellement important d’être le plus naturel possible, même quand on est un yogourt! Mais on a aussi un ingrédient secret…

Découvrez-le ici. >